Meet the INTC Board Members

Nalini Elkins


President, Co-Founder

Nalini Elkins is the President of the Industry Network Technology Council.  ​​

She is also the CEO and Founder of Inside Products, Inc.  Nalini is a recognized leader in the field of computer performance measurement and analysis. In addition to being an experienced software product designer, developer, and planner, she is a formidable businesswoman. She has been the founder or co-founder of three start-ups in the high-tech arena.

Nalini started her career doing network design and monitoring for the Chevron network.  She specializes in network performance analysis, measurement, monitoring, tuning, and troubleshooting of large enterprise networks.  One of her specialties is training and network design for IPv6 migration for large enterprises.  Many of the Fortune 1000 level companies as well as the large US government organizations have taken her classes on various networking topics. She has developed network monitoring and diagnostic products which were later marketed by IBM and other software companies.   She received the A.A. Michelson award from the Computer Measurement Group for her contributions to the field.   Nalini is on the Advisory Board of the India Internet Engineering Society (IIESoc).

Barbara STARK


Barbara Stark was a Lead Member of the Technical Staff in the Standards and Industry Alliances organization at AT&T when she retired in 2021. She had spent her entire (over 30 years) career working in the telecommunications industry, at AT&T, BellSouth, and then (as a result of merger) AT&T again. She has been involved in standards and external industry activities for IP-connected consumer electronics devices and home networking technologies since 1999, participating throughout the years in Broadband Forum (BBF), Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF), National Emergency Number Association (NENA), Wi-Fi Alliance, HomeGrid Forum (on the Board of Directors), Broadband Internet Technology Advisory Group (BITAG), Consumer Technology Association (CTA), UPnP Forum, and Digital Living Network Alliance (DLNA). In BBF, she was an instigator of TR-069 (CPE WAN Management Protocol) and has edited a variety of BBF Technical References (TRs). Barbara is also listed as an author or contributor of a handful of IETF RFCs, contributed to UPnP Forum and DLNA documents, and holds several patents. Barbara received a BSEE and BA (German language) from The University of Texas at Austin and a MSEE from Stanford University.​
​Barbara Stark won the Woman in Telecoms Award at the World Communication Awards 2019 for her pioneering role in the development of Broadband Forum’s globally-deployed TR-069 standard, its User Services Platform (USP), and a myriad of additional contributions to the Forum, as well as her contribution and leadership in other global standards organizations.

Dhruv dhody

Secretary,  Co-Founder

Dhruv has been working in the networking domain for the last 18 years with Huawei Technologies. His current designation is Chief Architect – Standards for Data Communications Business in India. Over the years he has worked on MPLS VPNs, OSPF, NTP, ALTO, CSPF, etc for Huawei’s Routing Platform. He is currently working on research & standards for various emerging technologies as PCE, Segment Routing (SR), and network slicing. He is an active IETF contributor in the area of Path Computation and Traffic Engineering with 32 RFCs as main author or contributor. He has filled 21 patents. He is also serving as the PCE WG co-chair at IETF. He is also part of the Routing Directorate and sergeant-at-arms for the IETF mailing list. He is also a founding member and secretary for Industry Network Technology Council (INTC).
Dhruv was awarded the Technical role model award by Zinnov and recognized as Technology stalwart in India.



Fred Baker has worked in the software engineering of computer networks since 1978, including Internet technology starting in 1986. He has chaired several IETF working groups on various topics; since 2005, he has chaired or co-chaired the IPv6 Operations working group. In addition, he chaired the IETF 1996-2001, and served on the Internet Architecture Board 1996-2002.

He has also been a member of the board of the Internet Software Consortium, which runs one of the DNS root services, since 2008, and represents them in ICANN’s Root Server System Advisory Committee – which he has also chaired 2018-present.

He is currently also the chair and primary editor in ITU Focus Group on Quantum Technology in Networking, in the sub-group related to the Implications of Quantum IT on Networks.

He represented Cisco in BITAG, writing or contributing to many documents intended to inform the FCC on Internet technology 2013-2016.

Additionally, he has written or edited 61 RFCs since 1989.


CHAIR, Co-Founder

Cathy is currently serving as the chair of the board of INTC.

Cathy began her networking career in 1988 at Merit Network as an engineer on the NSFNet and a regional network called CICNet. She was later responsible for routing and addressing at @Home Network, a startup that provided Internet over the cable TV network. She helped develop innovative network management tools at Packet Design and was VP of Architecture at NetVMG.

Cathy served on the American Registry for Internet Numbers (ARIN) Advisory Council from June 1998-December 2016. Cathy continues to participate in ARIN and was the ARIN IETF Reporter from 2011-2020. In the IETF reporter role, Cathy worked to make sure that the ARIN community was informed about what was going happening at the IETF especially things that would affect the RIR system or Internet Number policy.

Cathy is co-founder of net-grrls, a group that supports women in the Internet industry by creating space for women to gather at Industry events and online to discuss and exchange ideas. She is also active in the IETF Systers, a similar gathering of women participants at the IETF.

Cathy is also on the board of Honoring Our Veterans, a non-profit organization, and works with combat wounded veterans. 



Michael Ackermann is the lead Network Engineer of the System Management and Monitoring Team, at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan.

He is responsible for all aspects of planning, engineering, deployment and administration for all enterprise wide Management, Monitoring and Diagnostic activities.

Mike also serves as a chief architect for all Plan related IT issues. He has been a member of the BluesNet and Network Advisory Group committees since their inception and has served as committee and subcommittee chair on numerous occasions. Mike has also been a member of several advisory boards and is currently active in the IETF.


Board member

Alvaro Retana is VP, Technical Strategy in the Future Networks group at Futurewei Technologies, Inc. Previously, he was a Distinguished Engineer at Cisco Systems. Alvaro is an active participant in the IETF, where he serves as Routing Area Director and has authored several RFCs on routing technology. He has published four technical books and has been awarded over 55 patents by the US Patent and Trademark Office. Alvaro’s current technical interests include trust and security networking, transport systems, and operational simplicity.

Alvaro chaired the IETF-LAC Task Force for LACNOG (Latin American and the Caribbean Network Operators Group) to increase the participation of people from Latin America and the Caribbean in the IETF. Inclusive involvement in the IETF is one of his current priorities while serving in the IESG, including the definition of mechanisms to better integrate feedback from enterprises and academia in the standards definition process.

Alvaro holds a B.S. in Electrical Engineering from the University of Costa Rica. He was born and raised in San José and now lives in North Carolina with his wife and two sons.

You can reach the board at intc-board (at)